Diamond Buying Guide - The Perfect Diamond | Jewels of the Kimberley

Choosing The Perfect Diamond

With Australia alone producing millions of carats per year, it can be difficult to know what to look or ask for when purchasing a diamond for yourself or a loved one. This guide gives you an overview of the main factors which determine the value of a diamond, often referred to as the four Cs:

The Four C's

We also believe the following factors should be important in your quest for the perfect diamond:

  • Confidence – in the product on offer
  • Certificate – in the form of a gemmological report

click here to view diamond buying guide on mobile device


Cut is the only one of the four Cs not determined by nature, and refers to the angles and proportions the diamond cutter uses to transform a rough, dull diamond into a sparkling, polished gem.

When cut by a skilled diamond cutter a diamond will reflect incoming light internally from facet to facet, before  reflecting back to the top. This is what creates a superior diamond’s stunning brilliance and brightness. Of course, this means that diamonds must be cut within incredibly precise mathematical parameters to ensure the perfect proportions and depth. If cut too deep or too shallow, light will escape through the bottom of the gemstone. In essence the better the cut, the more brilliant the diamond will be.

The world’s leading grading laboratories certify most of our diamonds and most of our stones receive the rare and coveted ‘excellent’ grading. It is because of this meticulous selection process that we can continue to offer our clients diamonds of unsurpassed beauty and quality.

To view this guide on a Mobile device, please click here


The weight of a diamond is expressed in a unit of measure called Carats. The term carat originated from a natural unit of weight; the seeds of the Carob tree. Diamonds were traditionally weighed against these seeds until the system was standardised. One carat was fixed at 0.2 grams, with each carat divisible by 100 points.  These points and carats (or fractions of carats) are now used as universal terminology to help us to classify a diamond’s weight. For example, half a carat is described as 50 points, or 0.50 carats.

Larger diamonds are found much less frequently in nature and this has a bearing on their value. Therefore, a one carat diamond will typically cost more than twice that of a 0.50 carat diamond, assuming cut, colour and clarity are the same for both.


Colour refers to the natural degree of a diamond’s colouring. A diamond with the best colour grade is completely colourless, as this trait allows white light to pass through and display an entire rainbow of colours. Diamonds with tinges of yellow are found more often than colourless diamonds, and as a result are less valuable.

Diamonds are graded from D (colourless) through to Z (light yellow) along a colour scale established by the Gemmological Institute of America (GIA). Completely colourless diamonds are graded “D” and are treasured for their rarity, therefore extremely valuable. The Australian market has all colours available, however the most common and best value are from F to G.

Jewels of the Kimberley recommends diamonds from the top four colour grades D, E, F and G for their jewellery.

Fancy coloured diamonds are an exception and are also much sought after due to their extreme rarity – particularly yellows, pinks and blues. Their quality is judged by the intensity of their hue, and unlike white diamonds the more colour, the rarer the stone.


Almost every diamond contains microscopic pieces of non-crystallised carbon known as inclusions. These are natural characteristics that formed along with the gemstone millions of years ago.

The clarity of a diamond is graded by the size, nature, location, and number of inclusions it displays. The fewer and smaller the inclusions, the rarer and more valuable the diamond will be.

Diamonds are available in a range of clarity from Flawless (FL) to flaws being visible to the naked eye (I1-3)

Jewels of the Kimberley recommends diamonds from the clarity grading of Internally Flawless (IF) to Slight Inclusions (Si1).


  • Table – This is the large, flat top facet of a diamond.
  • Girdle – The narrow rim of a diamond that separates the crown from the pavilion. It is the largest diameter to any part of the stone.
  • Crown – The upper portion of a cut gemstone, above the girdle.
  • Diameter – The width of the diamond as measured through the girdle.
  • Pavilion – The lower portion of the diamond, below the girdle. It is sometimes referred to as the base.
  • Culet – The tiny facet on the pointed bottom of the pavilion.
  • Depth – The height of a gemstone, from the culet to the table.


Like the passion of true love, diamonds are everlasting, and so it is very important to ensure that when purchasing diamonds you receive the kind of everlasting value which comes only from having absolute confidence in the product you’ve purchased.

You can be sure to find this confidence with Jewels of the Kimberley. This is evidenced in each diamond’s beauty and brightness, visible to you simply by looking at our diamonds in comparison to any other diamond.


gia-certAnother important factor defining the value of a diamond is whether the diamond has already been sent to the world’s most internationally recognised and respected independent gemmological trade laboratories for grading and identification.

Accordingly, for your assurance most diamonds are sold together with their unique diamond grading and identification report in the form of a certificate.

These are available from the following laboratories, all of which have a world wide reputation in excellence.

GIA – Gemmological Institute of America. Established in 1931, the GIA has set the standard for quality diamond certification worldwide.
IGI – International Gemmological Institute. Founded in 1975 in Antwerp, the IGI is one of the leading gemmological institutes worldwide.
HRD – the Diamond High Council (Hoge Raad voor Diamant) Belgian diamond trade and industry. The HRD Certificates Department was founded in 1976 to meet the growing demand for reliable diamond certificates.


‘Conflict Diamonds’ is a term used to describe rough cut diamonds that are mined or stolen to finance armed rebellion against legitimate internationally recognised governments. Jewels of the Kimberley has a zero tolerance policy towards conflict diamonds and is committed to obtaining  our materials in an ethical and sustainable manner. We source our diamonds with one underlying principle in mind; confidence through quality and superiority of product.